Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Reviewer: Stacey O’Neale

I know I am so late to the party on this one! I actually had a chance to read this ARC back in September 2011, but didn’t. Mostly because I had just read I am Number Four (which people compared it to) and wasn’t really crazy about it. So, I assumed I wouldn’t like it.

OMG, I was SOOOOOO wrong. Like, the wrongest (is that a word?) that someone could be!

I would rate this book over 5 stars if I could. I was so into the story that I literally couldn’t put it down. I was walking around my house reading it, kept it in my purse, and read it in line during my errand run yesterday.

At times, Jennifer had me laughing and even screaming at the book. Daemon was equal parts infuriating and irresistible. I honestly don’t know how Katy held back. Well, there’s the whole he’s-a-total-jerk thing, but then you find out why and forgive him.

Katy is my favorite kind of heroine. She’s a typical teenage girl with her own insecurites, but she doesn’t take any of Daemon’s crap. Also, there is a scene in this book with spaghetti where I was vocally cheering her on.

Oh, and then there’s Chapter 26 – WHOA! That’s all I can say about that because I don’t want to ruin it for anyone.

Bottom line – Read this book! It’s so good. If you love YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi, and are looking for a spot-on YA voice, then pick this up.

3 thoughts on “Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. First, I don’t see really how this is like I Am Number Four except it’s about aliens. That’s about where the similarities end lol.

    Second, the spaghetti scene was EPIC. I cheered out loud, as well. I’m so glad I wasn’t out in public because that would’ve been embarrassing.

    Third, this book was just all sorts of amazing. I recommend reading Shadows. It’s a depressing read (since you’ll know the ending) but it’s sooooooo good. And it’ll tie you over until Onyx ;-)

    • I don’t get it either, but it actually says that on the book signing thing they passed out at BEA. “Fans of Hush, Hush and I am Number Four will devour Obsidian.”

  2. Pingback: [Review] Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout | The Bawdy Book Blog

Leave a Reply